Our Story...

In 1989, Dan and Donna Wecker sold their house and moved onto this historic complex which had been slated for demolition until it was secured by the Maryland Department of Natural Resources.  This young couple had put in a bid to do a restaurant/catering business on the site which was accepted.  The abandoned circa 1744 Tavern, 1810 Manor House and 1830 Brick House were in serious disrepair.  The Wecker family took on the task of restoration opening for the first time as a catering facility in 1992, restaurant in 1994 and completed extensive professional kitchens in 1996 all with sweat equity and reinvesting…which continues today.  With stunning views of the Patapsco River, the grounds and gardens offer both a gorgeous retreat and tasty inspiration for our menus which boast an upscale farm to table theme.  Our many green practices include composting and networking with several local farms to share our green scraps with their livestock.  Chef Dan and Donna offer lively hospitality along with their daughter, Genelle, who is the pastry chef, son-Cameron as restaurant manager, and Matthias who can be seen helping in the yard or behind the scenes.  Chef Dan was trained under the tutelage of Michel Beaupin from Grenoble, France under a four-and-a-half-year apprenticeship where he mastered all the disciplines of the French Kitchen.  With additional passion for geography, history, wine and terroir, it all comes together for Maryland’s most unique dining experience.   We look forward to sharing story and great food and drink when you visit…